Mercedes Rodriguez

At the conclusion of “Vampire in the City of Crosses”, Daniel McKee is hunting in downtown Las Cruces when he sees a tough, young woman who looks like a tempting target. She proves to be a 500-year-old vampire on the prowl for her own lunch. Here is Mercedes Rodriguez as imagined by Steven Gilberts:

In the chapter “The Quality of Mercy”, Mercedes Rodriguez tells her story to a boy named Hunter Morgan:

    About four hundred years ago I worked the land with my husband, a good but hard man. I suppose you could say he was a product of the land he was raised on. I met a dashing caballero from Spain named Rudolfo. He told me I was beautiful and he could make me live forever. I imagined him sweeping our family away from the hard life and taking us back to Europe. He smelled like flowers. I let him turn me into a vampire, which was a mistake.

    A new vampire must feed right away. Without thinking I took the life of my sweet young boy, then my baby girl. Once I had done that, I was satisfied, but realized the horror of what I had done. They say La Llorona was mad and drowned her children. I didn’t drown my children. I tossed their bodies into the river to hide them. They say La Llorona killed herself. I was killed by a vampire named Rudolfo de Córdoba. I wasn’t swept away to a better life. I was cursed for all eternity.

La Llorona is a widespread legend in Mexico and the American Southwest of a weeping woman who drowned her children in order to be with the man she loved.

Ever since she destroyed her mortal family, Mercy has been trying to create a new family. When Hunter became an adult, she turned him into a vampire. She used the power of the cross to bring Daniel under her control so she could make him part of her family. Her dream is nearly torn asunder when a pair of vampire hunters arrive at the theater she calls home and kidnaps Hunter and his girlfriend.

Mercy isn’t one to take a threat laying down. When she wakes early and discovers the exterminators in the theater, she looks at Daniel and says, “Time to show your stuff.” The scene continues:

    With that, she made for the stairs of the orchestra pit at a run, collapsing in on herself. In two bounds, she was on all fours as a jaguar.

Mercy is featured in Vampires of the Scarlet Order, available as:

2 thoughts on “Mercedes Rodriguez

  1. […] During the course of a test, she awakens the vampire Rudolfo who was mentioned in the post about Mercedes Rodriguez. It turns out that Rudolfo has been sleeping in a cave underneath Socorro Peak for nearly 400 […]

  2. […] it turns out, Rudolfo does go to the new world where he meets Mercy Rodriguez, then marches into New Mexico with Don Juan de Oñate then disappears. We next see him when […]

Leave a Reply

