Seven Awards

I was honored today to receive not just one blog award but seven. What’s more I received those seven awards from two separate bloggers! Emily Guido very deservedly received seven separate awards: the “Inspiring Blog Award”, “The Versatile Blogger”, “Kreativ Blogger”, “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award”, “The Reader Appreciation Award”, “The Sunshine Award” and “The Beautiful Blogger Award.” She bundled all of them up and awarded them altogether as Seven Awards.

You can read all about Emily’s awards, the people she recommends and even get a snippet of her “Light-Bearer” series at her Light-Bearer Series Blog. The Light-Bearer series consists of two novels so far, Charmeine and Ransom. They tell the story of a romance between two polar opposites, an ancient vampire called Tabbruis and a woman who throws lightning to fight vampires called Charmeine. I’ve enjoyed the excerpts Emily has posted and recommend them to anyone who likes vampire romance.

The other person who awarded me these seven awards is Camgal. I’ve just started reading Camgal’s blog, but already I was impressed with her insightful look at Pocahontas (both the Disney film and the woman of history), her poetry, and I enjoyed her review of Tim Burton’s Dark Shadows (A movie I still need to see!) I look forward to reading more of Camgal’s posts.

These awards come with rules and here is what Emily set up, with one slight modification by me:

  • List seven things about me.
  • Nominate seven bloggers (Emily recommends up to 15, but 7 seems appropriate!)
  • Thank the person who recommended you.

Seven Things About Me

  1. I have a degree in physics.
  2. My “day” job is operating telescopes at Kitt Peak National Observatory.
  3. I am credited as co-discoverer of two variable stars.
  4. I serve as Vice President of the Science Fiction Poetry Association.
  5. In addition to vampires, I write a wide range of speculative fiction. You can learn more about my other works at my other blog: http://davidleesummers.wordpress.com.
  6. I edit a magazine of science fiction and fantasy called Tales of the Talisman (Vampires are, of course, welcome!)
  7. I love to cook, and wish I had more time to do so!

Seven Wonderful Bloggers

  1. Paige Addams – Another wonderful vampire author.
  2. David C. Kopaska-Merkel – President of the Science Fiction Poetry Association, geologist and poet.
  3. Mike Brotherton – Fellow astronomer and science fiction writer.
  4. Ooa Revo – He has a cool video blog telling about the people he meets as he journeys across America.
  5. Emily Devenport – Science fiction and fantasy writer who talks movies, nature and more at her blog.
  6. Gayle Martin – Owner of Good Oak Press in Arizona talks about writing and publishing.
  7. J Alan Erwine – Author, game designer, editor with lots of insights on all those things and more.

Thanks to Emily and Camgal!

I’ll wrap up the post with one more “thank you” to Emily and Camgal for the award! Although I’m not sure I belong in a “sisterhood” (referring to one of the awards), I am honored to have received these awards and pleased to think of them as my sisters on the internet! Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Seven Awards

  1. What a nice thank you and of course I should have expected that you were so well educated! But your blogs are down to Earth even if it is fantasy sci-fi! Please keep on blogging, we all enjoy them! Humbly, Emily

  2. paigeaddams says:

    Congratz on your awards! 🙂 And thank you so much for nominating me! I’m really honored.

    And co-discoverer of two variable stars? That is so awesome! 🙂 Working at an Observatory would have to be one of the coolest jobs ever.

    • You certainly deserve the nomination, Paige. You’re blog is well done and I enjoy visiting.

      As for working at an observatory… it certainly CAN be very cool, but it can also be very stressful, especially if you have an observer under pressure to get results and either the weather or the equipment isn’t behaving! Also, funding is tight, especially in recent years. We’ve been coping with a lot of budget cuts.

Leave a Reply

