Cloaks and Awards

I just finished reviewing the galley proofs of Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order. The novel is back in the hands of my editor at Lachesis Publishing. One thing that was very nice about this review, was that it afforded me the opportunity to do some more research and improve one aspect of the novel.

Back in my post about the Vampire Roquelaure, I wrote:

    Roquelaure is a word from the French and it refers to a type of hooded, knee-length cloak that European men wore in the 18th and 19th centuries. The cloaks were named for the French marshal Antoine Gaston Jean Baptiste, Duc de Roquelaure.

I also mentioned how Guinevere gave him the name Roquelaure because he’s such a mystery. I then asked the following question:

    Now, the savvy reader will likely notice that the word Roquelaure comes from a fellow who was born in the seventeenth century. How could Guinevere in the sixth century have given him that name?

How indeed? I rationalized that the name she gave him was just the sixth century equivalent of the word Roquelaure. Further research led me to a better explanation.

When we first meet Roquelaure in Dragon’s Fall, he is a savage. Guinevere teaches him to read, write and become much more civilized. In her mind, he is both a mystery and worthy of accolades. Of course, those worthy of accolades in Roman Britain would have been awarded laurel wreaths.

Doing a deeper search into the meaning of the word “Roquelaure”, I discovered that it originally meant the place of the laurels—or the place cloaked in laurels. That seemed a name Guinevere would give a mysterious and wild vampire that she felt deserved honors. I’m glad I was able to add this little tidbit to the novel.


Kreativ Blogger Award

Speaking of laurels, I was honored by Paige Addams who presented both the Scarlet Order Vampire blog and David Lee Summers’ Web Journal the Kreativ Blogger Award.

I have written up a detailed post about the Kreativ Blogger Award over at the Web Journal. I’ve learned a little about where the award came from and I share a few blogs I enjoy reading. Hope you’ll check it out.

Since I’m nearing the end of my series of posts introducing the Scarlet Order vampires, I’ll reiterate something I wrote yesterday at the Web Journal. If you have something you’d like me to talk about here at the Scarlet Order Vampire page, please drop a note in the comments. If I’ve mentioned something you find interesting and would like me to address in greater detail, that would be great. If you have a writing, history, or folklore question that might be of interest to vampire fans, let me know and I’ll see what I can do!


The Lucky 7 Meme

In addition to the Kreativ Blogger Award, Emily Guido tagged me with the Lucky 7 Meme. Again, this one asks you to recommend blogs and I’ll refer you back to the Web Journal for several I recommend!

This award also has a fun set of rules:

  1. Go to the 7th or 77th page of your work in progress.
  2. Go to the 7th line of the page.
  3. Copy the next 7 sentences or paragraphs.

So here goes, a random snippet from Dragon’s Fall:

    Arthur frowned deeply. “That’s far to the north, in lands controlled by the Picts. I don’t think any of us could march all the way there.”

    “No,” agreed Ambrosius. “I need someone who has seafaring skills to sail up there and deal with that settlement.”

    Arthur the Dragon reached out, grabbed his goblet, and then took a sip of mead. “I can have Prydwen ready to sail in a week’s time my lord.”

2 thoughts on “Cloaks and Awards

  1. VERY COOL!!! You are an excellent writer! Congrats on all your acheivements and being published… I pray everyday for that one thing! Sincerely, Emily

  2. Thank you so much, Emily. I appreciate it! You’re work is great and you’ve got a lot of drive, so I know you’ll find a publisher one day, as well! All best and have a great 4th of July! David

Leave a Reply

