“Look” Challenge and One Lovely Blog Award

My latest novel Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order was released yesterday and we have lots of things going on this week to celebrate.

First off, be sure to drop by http://authorjessicafrost.blogspot.ca/2012/10/david-lee-summers-dragons-fall-rise-of.html to read an exclusive excerpt from Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order and to find out how you can win a $10 Amazon gift card.

Second, Emily Guido is hosting Fangs and Hearts week at her blog starting on October 24. Be sure to stop by and learn more about Dragon’s Fall and read another exclusive excerpt. Emily also interviews me. What’s more, she’s interviewing vampire authors all week. You won’t want to miss a single post!

This week, Paige Addams tagged me in two posts. Since both are fun and celebratory, I thought I would share them both here. Be sure to to visit Paige’s site at http://paigeaddams.wordpress.com/ to see the cool stories she’s working on.


“Look” Challenge

In the “Look” challenge, we search for the word “look” in a manuscript and then share the surrounding paragraphs. I thought it would be a fun way to find today’s excerpt from Dragon’s Fall. This is a standalone scene from the novel. Alexandra is a slave in the home of the mysterious Theron in Hellenistic Greece. She’s cleaning the bath when she comes on a mysterious secret. I’ve highlighted the word “Look” for fun!

    The next day, Democritus assigned me the task of cleaning and arranging Master Theron’s living quarters. Facing the courtyard were two sparsely furnished rooms that appeared only lightly used. A little dusting and the two rooms were in order. Behind one of the rooms was a bath – much nicer of course than the one in the slave’s quarters. The room was tiled in a lavish mosaic. The scene was a fierce battle. In the center of it all was a fierce gorgon – much like the one by the house gate – tearing soldiers limb from limb. Again, I wondered at our master’s fascination for gorgons. Like the two rooms at the front of the house, the bathroom only appeared lightly used and needed little cleaning. I stood back and examined the room. Something was not quite right about some of the mosaic tiles. Bending down and examining them closer, I saw that they were stained brown. The only thing I knew that would cause staining like that was blood.

    I knelt down to take a closer look. I tried to scrape the blood with my thumbnail, but it appeared that the stains were rather old and dry. Standing, I went across the courtyard to the kitchen where Pelagia politely acknowledged me. I borrowed a knife and returned to the bathroom. Setting to work on one of the blood spots, I was able to improve it somewhat, though I feared scraping too much and damaging the glaze on the tile’s surface. I found another blood spot nearby and set to work on it. Looking closer, I realized there were more spots than I originally thought, but the brightly colored tiles disguised them. I began to wonder what had caused so many spots in the bathroom. The spots were sufficiently old that I speculated that the house had been owned by a high-ranking soldier – possibly a general given the size of the house – and that he had been wounded in some way.

    As I set upon the third spot, I realized that cleaning them all was a job for more than one day. I did my best with the spot, then found some rags and a jar of water and did my best to wash away the dust I had made. I wondered if any of my predecessors had attempted to clean the spots.

    After doing what I could with the bath, I paused and sat down to a lunch of cheese and olives with Syntyche. Kallius, who had been tending trees around the perimeter of the house, joined us. “You seem troubled,” he said as he sat down.

    “I find myself wondering about the history of this house.” I took a sip of water. “I wonder if it is an older house that has seen owners before Theron.”

    Syntyche nodded and smiled. “That seems likely. We are in an older part of the city. Many of these houses have been owned by families for many generations.”

    Kallius’ brow creased. “That is true, but the walls do not seem as weathered as many of the neighboring houses. Either this is a newer house built in this part of the city, or Theron has taken great pains to keep the house in the best possible condition.”

    I frowned, not liking either option. If it was a newer house, why were there old bloodstains on the mosaic tiles of the bath? If the house really was old, but Theron wanted it to appear brand new, the same question still plagued me.


One Lovely Blog Award

Paige Addams has also honored me with One Lovely Blog Award.

The recipient of this award is supposed to list seven random facts about themselves. I thought it would be fun if I listed seven random vampire facts about myself!

  1. The first vampire novel I read was Bram Stoker’s Dracula.
  2. The first copy of Dracula I owned was purchased at a campground when I was ten years old.
  3. The first vampire movie I saw on the big screen was Werner
    Herzog’s 1979 Nosferatu in German. It’s still one of my favorite vampire films.
  4. One of my first published stories was called “The Vampires of Pasadena” about a pair of detectives investigating some mysterious disappearances. The vampires of the title were actually cultists who drank blood.
  5. The first vampire story I wrote with undead creatures was “Vampire in the City of Crosses”, which appeared in The Vampire’s Crypt in 2001.
  6. To promote Vampires of the Scarlet Order, I went to book signings wearing vampire fangs and a scarlet robe.
  7. The first draft of Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order was written for NaNoWriMo in 2006.

  8. Finding Dragon’s Fall

    If you’ve enjoyed the excerpts I’ve been sharing from Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order, I hope you’ll consider picking up a copy. I’d love to know what you think. Currently the ebook is available from the following fine vendors:

2 thoughts on ““Look” Challenge and One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Thanks David for the post and CONGRATULATIONS on your just rewards!!! Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

