Shine On Award

Once again, Emily Guido has honored me with a blog award. This one is the Shine On Award.

shine-on-award

Emily has been absolutely wonderful in her support of my paranormal fiction and the Scarlet Order vampires. Drop by her page and learn more the Light-Bearer Series where a heavenly Light-Bearer named Charmeine falls in love with a Blood-Hunter called Tabbruis. Sparks literally fly as their relationship grows and develops in a world where the forces of light and dark war with one another.

The Shine On Award comes with no rules. So, I thought I would give a shout-out to some of the people who encouraged me in the creation of the Scarlet Order vampires and provide a few insights into the history of the series.

First and foremost, a lot of credit goes to Janni Lee Simner. Despite the similarity of our names, we’re not related. However, in 2000, Janni graciously agreed to be on a panel I was hosting at the Border Book Festival in Las Cruces, New Mexico looking at science fiction and fantasy in the twenty-first century. After the panel, Janni and I were talking and she made an off-hand comment about the possibility of vampires in Las Cruces—literally the city of crosses. She said if the idea interested me, I was welcome to it since she didn’t write vampire fiction. I did run with it and about a week later, I wrote a story called “Vampire in the City of Crosses” which introduced the Scarlet Order vampires Daniel and Mercy.

I then looked around for a place to sell my story. The second place I sent the story was The Vampire’s Crypt edited by Margaret L. Carter. Not only did she buy that story, but she bought a sequel called “Vampires in the World of Dreams” and a story that still creeps me out—a vampiric take on the La Llorona legend called “The Weeping Woman.” These stories were edited and ultimately became part of Vampires of the Scarlet Order.

Another editor who believed in me early on was Kate Hill. She bought several of my early stories including a tale called “The Last Conquestador” which ran in her zine Parchment Symbols and introduced the vampires Rudolfo de Cordoba and Jane Heckman. Another story she purchased was written after I visited both Carlsbad Caverns and Roswell, New Mexico. It was called “Bat-Flight South of Roswell” and introduced Marcella DuBois. Again, both of these stories were reworked and became part of Vampires of the Scarlet Order.

Finally, I want to make a special shout-out to Jacqueline Druga. She bought Vampires of the Scarlet Order and introduced me to the National Novel Writing Month. I wrote two novels for NaNoWriMo. The first was my science fiction adventure The Solar Sea. The second was my prequel to Vampires of the Scarlet Order called Dragon’s Fall. Of course, Dragon’s Fall was just released this past year.

Go learn about all these women and buy their books. There would be no Scarlet Order vampires without them!

Leave a Reply

