Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Matthew D. Ryan of the blog A Toast To Dragons has honored me with the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

very inspirational blogger

These awards come with rules, although they’re typically somewhat fluid and you can often find different versions from different people unless you take the time to go back and track down the original version. The spirit of the awards is good. It’s an opportunity to “pay it forward” by recommending some other good blogs and to talk about a topic I might otherwise not address. In this case, the topic is simply to state seven facts about myself. To make this a little different than other places I’ve discussed things about myself and because Matthew gives a shout-out to my fantasy writing in particular, let me give you seven facts related to my fantasy writing career:

  1. My first professional fantasy sale was a story called “The Slayers” that appeared in the August 2001 issue of Realms of Fantasy Magazine.
  2. I had not read J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings until after I made my first professional fantasy sale.
  3. The first fantasy novel I remember reading was The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis.
  4. I played Dungeons and Dragons (and a few variants) in high
    school and college.
  5. I took three years of college-level German. Along the way, I translated the Grimm’s original “Snow White” (Schneewittchen). I have been a big fan of the original Grimm Fairy Tales ever since.
  6. Another discovery from college German was Werner Herzog’s Nosferatu, which is still one of my all-time favorite vampire films.
  7. The first gift my wife ever gave me was The Dragonriders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey. It’s still one of my favorite novels.

In the spirit of paying of forward, I’ll nominate the following people for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Now, I’m not always good with the follow up and telling people they’ve been nominated, but I hope a few will see this and tell us a little about themselves. In either event, you should go and visit these bloggers and see what they’re up to, along with Matthew D. Ryan who nominated me.

  1. F.T. McKinstry – A fantasy writer whose work I’ve published in Tales of the Talisman
  2. Deby Fredericks – I had the honor of editing her fine fantasy novel Seven Exalted Orders.
  3. Bell Night is a writer who presents fascinating facts and tidbits about other famous authors.
  4. Melinda Moore is a talented writer who has stories upcoming in Tales of the Talisman and the anthology A Kepler’s Dozen.
  5. Marina Martindale is a talented romance author who will be sharing a pavilion with me during the upcoming Tucson Festival of Books.
  6. Chris Malone is a teenage zombie in high school.
2 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Thanks for the nod, David! I’ve been feeling stuck, and this helps me keep going.

Leave a Reply

