Hot Summer Nights

On a dark desert highway, cool wind in my hair
Warm smell of colitas, rising up through the air
Up ahead in the distance, I saw a shimmering light
My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim
I had to stop for the night
There she stood in the doorway;
I heard the mission bell
And I was thinking to myself,
“This could be Heaven or this could be Hell”
Then she lit up a candle and she showed me the way

Welcome to this stop on the Hot Summer Nights Blog Hop! This post comes soon after the paperback release of my novel Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order. I’ll be introducing the key players and at the end of the post I’ll tell you how you can win a free print copy of the novel! Also, if you leave a comment and your email address you will be entered to win one of two prizes:

1st Grand Prize – A Kindle Fire
2nd Grand Prize – $100 Amazon Gift Card

BWS tips button

I’m sure most people recognize the lyrics of “Hotel California” by the Eagles that I quoted at the beginning. When I think “Hot Summer Nights” this is the song that comes to mind. According to Don Henley, it was “an interpretation of the high life in California.” I grew up in Southern California and for me, the song captures the sensuousness of my youthful fantasies. I wanted to go to that hotel and be tempted by the mysterious figure who lit up the candle and showed the stranger the way. Or did I? To me, the song conjures the image of Dracula’s opening scene when the count appears at the door and meets Harker and leads him inside after a long journey. Could “she” be the vampire Alexandra in the present day? The vampire who found freedom as a thief of both gold and blood?

Her mind is Tiffany-twisted, she got the Mercedes bends
She got a lot of pretty, pretty boys she calls friends
How they dance in the courtyard, sweet summer sweat.
Some dance to remember, some dance to forget

Oh, how I remember that summer when my first true love broke up with me. Such exquisite pain. I would do anything to forget and anything to remember. How much worse then would it be for the Vampire Roquelaure who lost his one true love to old age while he still appeared to be a young man? How much worse could it be when the woman was none other than King Arthur’s own Queen Guinevere? He finds comfort in the shadows and in the arms of Alexandra.

Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
“Relax, ” said the night man,
“We are programmed to receive.
You can check-out any time you like,
But you can never leave! ”

Desmond, Lord Draco was a knight in ancient Britain who served alongside Arthur, a man destined to be king. Like both Roquelaure and Arthur, Desmond loved Guinevere, but that love was denied when he fell in battle only to come back as a vampire. Draco sought the Holy Grail and an even more precious relic. When those treasures were denied him, he began an eternal search for truth—stuck in a life where he could check out any time he liked, but never able to leave. Like Roquelaure, he finds a companion in Alexandra. What happens when Draco and Roquelaure collide?

And she said “We are all just prisoners here, of our own device”
And in the master’s chambers,
They gathered for the feast
They stab it with their steely knives,
But they just can’t kill the beast

Three vampires. Three lives. What will happen when they all collide?

Have I intrigued you? If so, I hope you’ll take some time to learn more about Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order. There’s an excerpt and order information at the Dragon’s Fall page. And, of course, I’m giving away a signed, print copy of the novel. Click the Rafflecopter link to enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don’t forget to leave a comment with your email address so you can be entered to win the grand prizes!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

24 thoughts on “Hot Summer Nights

  1. Kumie says:

    Great book. I really like Alexandra. I appreciate that David Lee Summers writes strong female characters.

    kumie[at]zianet[dot]com

  2. susan platt says:

    great giveaway

    susanmplatt AT Hotmail DOT com

  3. Arely Z. says:

    Oooh thanks 😀

    amzpar[at]gmail[dot]com

  4. Wendy Pogrant says:

    Thanks for participating in the hop.
    Wendy Pogrant wpogrant@yahoo.com

  5. Hotel California . . . how I love the lyrics. Thanks for a wonderful memory.
    Kimberly Comeau
    casey 446 at hot mail (dot) c o m

  6. Joy F says:

    Thanks for the awesome hop.
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

  7. Susan Frances says:

    Any story that offers background info about King Arthur’s court is intriguing. Very nicley done.
    susan_francesny[at]hotmail[dot]com

  8. Irene Rosa says:

    I love good vampire books. Thank you for being part of this hop.
    Irene Rosa
    lahincha@hotmail.com

  9. JM says:

    Thank you and GL to everyone! jmelter(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. veronica vaughn says:

    thanks for the summer nights hop neonangelwings(at)yahoo(dot)com

  11. Andra says:

    Thanks for sharing the great giveaway 🙂 Such amazing prizes! Very generous of you! Have a happy summer 😀

    andralynn7 AT gmail DOT com

  12. Pam says:

    Sounds like a great book.

    pjmillion(at)comcast(dot)net

  13. BookAttict says:

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  14. bn100 says:

    Thanks
    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  15. Tata says:

    I have great summer memories with Eagles as a soundtrack.
    Thank you!
    Tata
    alifeamongbooks [at] gmail [dot] com

  16. JanD says:

    Love vampires!
    bituin76 at hotmail dot com

  17. Thanks for all the awesome comments so far. Good luck to you all! I’ve been spending the weekend at Phoenix Comicon. Had a great time!

  18. Judy Peterson says:

    I love that song. great time listening to it. I remember the Eagles playing on the radio when I was a teen. I think you did a great job on this blog. I will have to get the book and find out what happens.

    strawberryrose@earthlink.net

  19. BookLady says:

    The Scarlet Order sounds like a fascinating series. Thanks for sharing the excerpts and thanks for the great giveaway.
    bhometchko(at)hotmail(dot)com

  20. divadiane1 says:

    That song is fantastic and yes, you have intrigued me!
    divadiane AT web DOT de

  21. Maria says:

    Thanks for the opportunity!
    farmaki(at)live(dot)com

  22. I am glad I made it this far on the hop. I am new to D.L. Summers’s books and I look forward to reading them.

    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  23. shadowluvs2read says:

    Hi! You have intrigued me! Looks and sounds awesome! Thank you for taking part in this awesome hop! Its so much fun! Its wonderful meeting and seeing so many great people! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  24. Thanks to all the awesome people who stopped by the Scarlet Order Vampires Blog as part of the Hot Summer Nights blog hop. Hope you have enjoyed getting to know more about the series. Congratulations to JanD who won a signed copy of the novel! The sponsors of the hop said they will announce the winners of the Kindle Fire and the $100 Amazon Gift Card by Friday night. Good luck to all who left a comment.

Leave a Reply

