Phoenix Comicon 2013

I’d like to start this week’s post with a big welcome to all the people who discovered the Scarlet Order Vampire Journal during the Hot Summer Nights Blog Hop! I will also be joining the Christmas in July Blog Hop that runs from July 19-22. I have a special giveaway package all picked out for that event, so be sure to stay tuned.

David at Phoenix Comicon

On Memorial Day Weekend, I was honored to be one of the guest authors at Arizona’s Phoenix Comicon. The event was held in the Phoenix Convention Center and I spoke on several panels about writing and science. It was also the debut event for the print editions of two of my books: Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order and A Kepler’s Dozen: Thirteen Stories About Worlds that Really Exist

Dragon’s Fall was a popular choice for people looking for a thrilling, adult vampire tale. A Kepler’s Dozen was popular with science fiction fans and people who wanted to know about planets discovered around other stars by NASA’s Kepler Space Mission.

Not only do I write about vampires, I’m a fan of vampires too. As such, I was especially pleased to meet Rebecca Hicks, the creator of the Little Vampires webcomic. The link will take you to the comic Rebecca drew from a suggestion I gave her just before the convention.

I also had the chance to meet Amanda Tapping, creator and star of the series Sanctuary, which reveals that Nikola Tesla was, in fact, a vampire!

Near the end of the convention, we received the order to evacuate the convention center. I gather smoke was seen in one of the meeting rooms and the fire alarm was pulled. I have to give a big shoutout to the convention center staff and the convention attendees for the orderly evacuation of the facility. It was handled professionally and well. Once everyone was allowed back in, we stayed open an hour and a half later to make up for the half hour we lost. It made for a long day, but I was glad to meet a few more people.

As with any big convention, I saw a lot of friends, made some new friends, but managed to miss some friends who were there. I look forward to seeing some of the last group at another event down the road.

Of course, you don’t have to wait for an event to check out my books. You can see the complete set along with places you can buy at: http://www.davidleesummers.com/books.html

Leave a Reply

