A Wedding Gift

I’m just back from a trip to Seattle where I was groomsman at my college roommate’s wedding. It was a wonderful, if exhausting, trip. One can argue that the primary duty of a groomsman is to keep the groom calm enough to enjoy his wedding, which means doing a handful of wedding chores. Most of the ones I performed were pretty typical. I bought a garter for the bride, I poured champagne at the reception, then helped clean up afterwards.

However, the groom had one very interesting request. He asked if I would write a story for his bride and him, where they were the stars. I won’t do this kind of thing for just anyone, especially with deadlines on two novels looming. The groom, though, is a very special friend and I took a crack at it.

As a little bit of background, I’ll mention that we’d lost contact with each other for a time, but he sought me out around 2008 at Norwescon in Seattle. He had a copy of my novel Vampires of the Scarlet Order and asked me to sign it. He also mentioned that he really enjoyed my story “Luftgeist,” which is scheduled for publication in These Vampires Don’t Sparkle coming soon from Sky Warrior Publishing. He told me that the bride is a horror fan and would enjoy being worked into a horror story.

Marcella Montage

With this information, the wheels started turning. I knew that the vampire Marcella from my Scarlet Order vampire series is a romantic at heart. I figured if I could write a story where the couple had the chance to meet Marcella, she would arrange to seal their engagement. So that’s the tack I took.

The story I finally came up with was approximately 2000 words long. Now, the groom asked me to read the entire story, but I realized that we’d start pushing the patience of hungry people, waiting for cake, so I just summarized the story for the audience. Those who commented, seemed to enjoy it. I hope Ken and Melissa, the happy couple, enjoy the story when they read it. If I get their permission, I hope to share it here, perhaps over a couple of weeks, a little special chapter in the life of the Scarlet Order Vampires.

Vampires of the Scarlet Order

Meanwhile, I wish Ken and Melissa all the best in their new marriage. The rest of you can get your own copy of Vampires of the Scarlet Order at Amazon.com and BN.com.

Leave a Reply

