Liebster Award

The wonderful Jodie Paterson at http://jodiepaterson.com/ has just nominated me for the Liebster Award. She is a media student in Aberdeen and has a wonderful blog where she shares her poetry and reflects on life. Be sure to go check it out. Thank you, Jodie for the nomination!

liebster-award-main

As part of the award, Jodie has asked me eleven questions.

1. What is your favourite thing about blogging so far?

I like having the opportunity to share my thoughts about topics of interest to me and hearing what insights my readers can add.

2. Why did you start your blog?

I started my blog as a way to share news about my vampire novels. It’s grown into a place where I discuss my inspirations, those books and movies I’ve found interesting, and other topics of interest to me as a horror and paranormal fiction fan.

3. If given a choice would you rather write with paper and pen, or on a screen?

When I was younger and computers were big, bulky, and tied you to your desk, I definitely preferred pen and paper. Now that computers are lightweight and easily mobile, I prefer working on screen. It allows me to try out ideas, change my mind when they don’t work, and start all over again.

4. What are your ambitions in life?

I have succeeded in becoming a published author. I would like to expand upon that success and get my books into the hands of even more people who will enjoy them. I would love to see someone enjoy my novels enough to turn one into a movie. I have traveled rather extensively around the United States. I would like to travel further and see more of the world.

5. What would you consider the best thing you have experienced so far in your life?

I think the very best thing in terms of emotional intensity was the birth of my daughters. That said, that was just the beginning of the story. I have delighted in each of the milestones they’ve reached as they’ve grown. So really the best thing I’ve experienced is watching them grow into young women and looking forward to seeing what they achieve in the future.

6. If money was not a problem, what would you purchase?

I would purchase a nice, large house where I could write in comfort and which would allow friends to come visit and use it as a retreat. I would hire a generously paid staff to help care for the grounds and the maintenance. I’m not sure where I would purchase this house. Right now, New Orleans holds a magic for me, but I could imagine many other places ranging from Nantucket to Santa Fe or even in my home town of Las Cruces.

7. What is your favourite film?

That’s a tough question because there are so many films I love, but I’m going to say the 1979 version of Nosferatu starring Klaus Kinski and Isabelle Adjani. I can put that film on almost no matter what mood I’m in and find enjoyment in it. It’s perhaps not the scariest, funniest, most exciting, or most romantic film, but it has elements of all those things and it does them all well. And, it’s a film that gets better each time I see it.

8. If you created your own universe, what rules would you put in place?

As a professional astronomer, this question has so many possibilities and ramifications. What’s more, so much of how the universe is has given rise to who we are as people and the world I love. So, I guess if I were to put new rules in place they would be fairly subtle. I’d love it if life were a little longer and humans could enjoy more of it. I’d love it if life weren’t quite so fragile. I’d love it if people were better at listening to and considering other people’s opinions without prejudging them.

9. What is your favourite season, and why?

My favorite season is autumn, especially where I live in the Southwestern United States. The air turns crisp, but is rarely cold. The sky often takes on a deep blue cast. The wind calms. Autumn is the season of Halloween. Do I really need a better reason to pick autumn?

10. If you could live anywhere, where would it be, and why?

So far in my life, I have found that where I live in Las Cruces, New Mexico is a good match for me. I like the people, the weather is mild, but has noticeable seasons. There are good bookstores and libraries within walking distance of my house, but not so many distractions that I can’t focus on my writing.

In an ideal world with limitless funds, I would spend time traveling and making extended visits to places like New Orleans or the English countryside where I could imagine living and see if those places proved to be a better fit, but they would have to work hard to do the job!

11. What is your dream pet?

My dream pet would be a hadrosaur. These were duck-billed dinosaurs. They seem both beautiful and peaceful and scientists speculate their calls were amazing and there are indications they were great parents.


Now, the rules of this award are:

  • Thank your nominator and post a link to his/her blog.
  • Display the award on your blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions provided by the nominator.
  • Nominate 5-11 blogs.
  • Make up and post 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Post these rules on your blog.

I love the spirit of these blog awards in that they can serve as a method for people to discover new blogs they might like. That said, I don’t feel anyone I nominate should feel obligated to respond, especially if they’ve already been tagged or it proves to be an imposition. That said, here are blogs, I highly recommend and thus nominate for the award:

Dab of Darkness: http://dabofdarkness.com

Kev’s Blog: http://kevs-domain.net/

Chris, the Story Reading Ape: http://thestoryreadingapeblog.com/

Madness of a Modern Writer: http://www.chrisvotey.com/writing/

The Light-Bearer Series: http://emilyguido.com

Wyrmflight – A blog for people who love dragons: http://wyrmflight.wordpress.com/


I’ll wrap up with a set of questions my nominees can answer:

1. Why do you blog?

2. Who was your favorite teacher in school and why?

3. What is your favorite film?

4. What is your favorite place you’ve visited and why?

5. If given a choice, would you be a vampire? Why or why not?

6. What literary classic do you most want to read?

7. If you could order anything to eat right now, what would it be?

8. Are you a day person or a night person?

9. What does writing mean to you?

10. What’s your beverage of choice when writing?

11. What does this award mean to you?

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Love it! You are just such a talented and delightful person to know, David! Thank you and will respond! Lots of love, Emily

  2. Brilliant answers! That is one of my favourite films too! 🙂

  3. […] Extraordinaire Author David Lee Summers has just nominated me for the Liebster […]

Leave a Reply

