My Year in Horror – 2014

This is that time of year when many of us look at the year we just finished to see what we’ve accomplished as we look ahead to our goals in the year to come. On reflection, I have to say 2014 was a pretty good year.

I started the year working on a new horror novel called The Astronomer’s Crypt. The title is inspired by numerous astronomers who have been interred in or near observatories where they worked. The novel itself imagines what would happen if a disgruntled employee, demonic forces, and drug runners collided with astronomers on a dark and stormy night. I turned the novel in last May. It was accepted while I was visiting New Orleans in August and my editor plans to start work on the novel soon after the beginning of the year.

Blood-Sampler-375

2014 saw the release of the second edition of Blood Sampler which collects vampire flash fiction by Lee Clark Zumpe and me. The second edition features a gorgeous cover by Laura Givens and lovely interior illustrations by Marge Simon. Because it’s flash fiction, it’s a good collection for reading now and then. Many of the concepts I introduced in these flash stories went on to be further developed in Vampires of the Scarlet Order and Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order. You can learn more and pick up a copy for yourself at Smashwords.

These Vampires Don't Sparkle

I was also honored that my story “Luftgeist” was selected for the anthology These Vampires Don’t Sparkle. “Luftgeist” is one of my favorite Scarlet Order vampire stories. It shows there are some humans so evil that even blood sucking vampires won’t work for them. It also shows the explosive events that can happen when a vampire encounters a Valkyrie. My story is just one of 27 tales in this exciting collection. If you haven’t, be sure to pick up a copy at Amazon or Smashwords.

Not only has this been a good year for me as a writer, it’s been a fascinating one as a reader. I read and discussed books by such masters at Stephen King and Anne Rice. In fact, I’m especially pleased to have taken the time to have caught up with Rice’s Vampire Chronicles and to have read King’s It. I also read Paradise Lost, which has been on my list since high school—though I’m hesitant to say just how many years that has been!

In the coming year, I look forward to working with my editor to bring out The Astronomer’s Crypt. I also hope to read Pandora and Vittorio the Vampire, the two Anne Rice vampire novels that are not marketed as “The Vampire Chronicles” but still fit in the same world. If you enjoyed my recent article about “The Three Faces of Dracula” at Vamped.org, I also hope to do another article for them about vrykolakas folklore. I have a little homework to do for that one.

Thank you for spending some of your 2014 with me here at the Scarlet Order Journal. Here’s wishing you a wonderful and prosperous 2015!

Leave a Reply

