Steampunk Goes To High School

Starting this week, I thought I’d try something new and cross post my two blogs. I think there’s enough common interest between the blogs this allows those who follow one to easily see what’s going on at the other blog. Enjoy!

David Lee Summers' Web Journal

This past week, one of the local high school teachers invited me to speak to her creative writing class about steampunk. I thought I would share my outline of the presentation in case it was helpful, either for the particular case of presenting information about steampunk or any other genre writing.

I started out by finding out what the students knew about steampunk. This particular class didn’t know much, just had some idea that it had to do with the past, but one student piped up that he was a fan of cyberpunk. So, this led me into a discussion of steampunk’s roots in the 1980s and how K.W. Jeter coined the term in a letter to Locus magazine. This seemed to hook the class. I also pointed out that steampunk isn’t just a genre of writing, but it’s expanded into art, music, and even lifestyles. I passed around a…

View original post 488 more words

Leave a Reply

