Vampires of the Scarlet Order Turns Ten!

This week marks the tenth anniversary of my novel Vampires of the Scarlet Order and to celebrate, I’m holding a giveaway! Be sure to read to the bottom to find the link to the Rafflecopter Giveaway.

David Lee Summers Vampire-Scarlet-Order-800x1190

Vampires of the Scarlet Order got its start in my Las Cruces, New Mexico home in the spring of 2000. I was talking to my friend Janni Lee Simner about writing. As the conversation progressed the subject of vampires came up and Janni said, “I wonder what vampires would make of Las Cruces, being the city of crosses and all.” We knocked a few possibilities around and finally she said that if a story idea came to mind, I was welcome to it. She had no plans to write a vampire story. A few days later, I drove to work at Apache Point Observatory and had the idea of a vampire telescope operator who moves to Las Cruces to work at a small observatory. I wrote up the story and called it “Vampire in the City of Crosses.” In 2001, I sold it to Margaret L. Carter, editor of The Vampire’s Crypt. It was one of my first real story sales.

Over the next two years, I wrote six more stories set in the same vampire world. “Vampires in the World of Dreams” and “The Weeping Woman” both appeared The Vampire’s Crypt. “Pat, Marcella, and the Kid” and “The Scarlet Order” both ran in Night to Dawn magazine. “The Last Conquistador” ran in Parchment Symbols magazine and “Bat Flight South of Roswell” was published as a stand-alone chapbook from Anxiety Publications. These stories became the core of Vampires of the Scarlet Order.

Over the next year, I updated the stories, figured out how they tied together and then assembled them into the novel Vampires of the Scarlet Order. The novel tells the story of how a band of vampire mercenaries working for the Spanish Inquisition went their separate ways only to be reunited in the early twentieth century when the government figures out a way to build vampire-like super-soldiers who threaten world security and peace.

When I finished the novel, I outlined four more Scarlet Order novels. One of those told the story of how the Scarlet Order vampires formed and how they came to be working for the Spanish Inquisition. That novel is Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order, which is now also in print.

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of Vampires of the Scarlet Order, I’m holding a giveaway. The number of winners will depend on how many enter, but I’m currently prepared to give away up to five books. The way this will work is that I’ll give away one book for the first nine people who enter. Once ten have entered, I’ll give away a second. Once fifteen have entered, I’ll give away a third and so on, so the odds actually will stay pretty good as more people enter.

Each winner may choose one of my vampire books in whatever format they’d like that’s available. If they choose a paperback copy, I’ll autograph it and send it along. If they choose an ebook, I’ll gift it and send along an authorgraph. The contest is open until midnight mountain time on May 29. I’ll email winners that weekend and arrange delivery of the books.

Winners may choose from:

If by chance you actually have all those books, enter anyway, I bet I can work with you to find a prize you’ll enjoy!


Click here to enter a Rafflecopter giveaway

The giveaway runs until midnight mountain time on Friday, May 28. I’ll contact winners over the following weekend.

9 thoughts on “Vampires of the Scarlet Order Turns Ten!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!! You are the King of the Vampire World! Lots of love, your biggest fan, Emily

  2. […] of Vampires of the Scarlet Order. I’m giving away up to five books. Be sure to visit the Scarlet Order Vampires Page for details about the Rafflecopter Giveaway. One of the things I love about the novel is that I […]

  3. […] to enter our Rafflecopter giveaway. I’m collecting entries until the end of the month. See last week’s post for more details or just click here to enter the Rafflecopter […]

  4. […] be sure to enter my Rafflecopter giveaway. I’m collecting entries until the end of the month. See the first post in this series for more details or just click here to enter the Rafflecopter […]

  5. […] be sure to enter my Rafflecopter giveaway. I’m collecting entries until the end of the month. See the first post in this series for more details or just click here to enter the Rafflecopter […]

  6. […] There are still just a few days left to enter the Rafflecopter drawing for one of my vampire books. See the first post in this series for more details or just click here to enter the Rafflecopter […]

  7. carmalynn says:

    I hope I entered! I tried! I love the idea of a historical vampire series set in Las Cruces. Also love the vampire telescope operator.

    • Thank you, Carma! There’s a delay from the time Rafflecopter takes entries until I see them, but I do see there are some new ones since I last checked, so I think you succeeded. If not, for some reason, I’ll get in touch through Facebook and make sure we get an entry in for you. Thanks for playing! This is getting exciting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

