Vampire Music

Some of my most interesting vampire finds come from my work at Kitt Peak National Observatory. As I’ve mentioned in earlier posts, I was inspired to write about vampires because a co-worker referred to those of us who operate telescopes as the vampires of the mountain. This week, I was talking to a co-worker about an upcoming trip to New Orleans and a possible book signing. He asked if I knew about the song, “Moon Over Bourbon Street” by Sting. I actually hadn’t heard it, but I looked it up and found it to be a compelling slow-jazz tune about a New Orleans vampire that seems inspired by Anne Rice’s Lestat.

Listening to the song made me curious what other vampire-inspired songs were available. A quick search soon told me there are a lot! Some are fairly obvious, like Annie Lennox’s “Love Song for a Vampire” from the movie Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

In addition to numerous songs from the movies there were an assortment of Goth, punk, and heavy metal tunes. However, one of my favorite finds was Blue &Oumlaut;yster Cult’s “Nosferatu.” This music video featuring scenes from Werner Herzog’s film of the same name made this a real treat.

Do you have any particular favorite vampire songs? I’d love to hear about them and who knows? They may end up on my vampire play list. Also, regarding that possible book signing—things look promising and I hope to have details for you here soon!

Leave a Reply

