Signing at Boutique du Vampyre

On Saturday, August 22, I signed my novels Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order and Vampires of the Scarlet Order at Boutique du Vampyre in the French Quarter of New Orleans. As it turns out, I started the day by making a pilgrimage to the site of Lafcadio Hearn’s house in Downtown New Orleans.

Hearn-house

I have mentioned Hearn in my post about the movie Kwaidan. Before he moved to Japan, he was a newspaper reporter in New Orleans and, among other things, wrote the obituary of Voodoo Queen Marie Laveau. He also compiled two of the earliest cookbooks of Creole cuisine.

About half an hour before the signing was scheduled to start, the skies opened up in a fierce downpour. My wife and I entered the shop dripping wet, but we soon dried off. I decided to kick off the signing by consulting the Boutique’s one-of-a-kind Jacques St. Germaine Fortune Telling Machine.

Jacques

He told me shrunken vampire heads from the boutique will bring me luck and wisdom. The ticket he ejected at the end said that staying late in bed is good every now and again, but it’s a habit one should not cultivate. With my fortune read, I took my place at my table near the back of the shop. The rain continued for a time, meaning the first hour of the signing was quiet. The shop’s owner, Marita Crandle, did take the time present me with a lovely gift.

Those familiar with the novel Dracula know that vampires can turn themselves into mist. There is an old legend that says that vampires in mist form can be lured into wine bottles and trapped. bottled vampire Marita gave me a bottle with the trapped vampire “David Summers.” According to the bottle, I was visiting New Orleans when I flew into a rage at readers who wanted to be turned into real vampires. They saw the life of a vampire as luxurious and magical, but I knew the truth because I was plagued by my own eternal existence! I then flew off the handle and granted the customers their wish. I was bottled so I’d have time to calm down! Now that I’m back home, the bottle has a place of honor along with my books in my office.

The rain storm eventually cleared and people started coming into the shop. I had the opportunity to chat with several people about my books. One of the things that great about a city like New Orleans is that I got to meet a lot of people from all around the country. It turns out the popular title of the day was Dragon’s Fall: Rise of the Scarlet Order. I was honored to have Alys Arden, author of The Casquette Girls come in and chat for a while.

My signing was originally scheduled to run from 3-6pm, but given the rain, we extended that to 7pm and I even stayed a little past that. At the end of the night, Marita recorded her Vampire Business and International Topics of Entertainment (or VBITE) news update. She invited me to join in and discuss my novels.

Thanks to everyone who came out for the signing. I had a great time and hope we’ll get to do another signing in New Orleans soon! Even if you missed the signing, there are exclusive signed copies of the novel at Boutique du Vampyre. Click the link to order your copies today!

9 thoughts on “Signing at Boutique du Vampyre

  1. Great post! I’m so jealous of your visit to New Orleans. I’ve been trying to get back ever since I visited 3 years ago.

    • Thank you, Alice! Yes, New Orleans has a way of getting under your skin. Hope you can make it back soon! I’m fortunate that my daughter goes to college there. It gives me a good excuse to visit. 🙂

  2. Sounds like the book store owner has a great sense of humor!

    • She does have a great sense of humor – and she has a lot more than books. She has all kinds of interesting vampire-themed gifts from coffee and wine to fun novelty photos that change into vampires to some truly lovely jewelry.

  3. Anne Marie says:

    So sorry I missed this signing 😦

  4. […] and Vampires of the Scarlet Order. If you haven’t already, be sure to drop by the post at https://dlsummers.wordpress.com/2015/08/31/signing-at-boutique-du-vampyre/ to get the full […]

Leave a Reply

